Creation of the iPhone Cake, in pictures…sort of.

For those of you who are friends with me on Facebook, you may recall the iPhone cake I uploaded about a month ago.

This cake got more reviews and likes than I’d ever expected to receive, so I thought a few of you wonderful people would be interested in seeing how the cake was made. :)

About a week or so before my dad’s birthday, his iPhone fell on the ground and the screen was massively cracked (thankfully it was still functioning…until we tried to fix the screen. Another story for another time.) At the time, I was still trying to decide what kind of cake to bake my dad, and that’s when I got the idea: an iPhone cake! My dad adored his iPhone, and how flipping awesome would that be?

Then I realized I had never worked with fondant in my entire life, and although this cake didn’t turn out all too difficult, it was pretty daunting for a beginner such as myself. After days of research, and countless “how to work with fondant” video tutorials, I decided that I was ready (ish).

Below I’ve compiled the steps I took to make the cake, with a couple of pictures for your visual pleasure. Obviously I didn’t include everything I did…because I kind of have no ideait will probably bore you.

If you’re a fondant expert, please feel free to give me some tips. I’m such an amateur.

Pre-Step Steps I took:

1) Decide on what cake you’re going to bake, and think about how you plan on decorating it. Don’t over think it though, because you’ll probably be improvising a lot of the time.

2) Watch a lot of how-to tutorials.

3) Make your own fondant, or buy your own at least the day before you decide to make the cake.

4) You’re going to need a few general supplies such as a fondant smoother, fondant rolling pin. They’re not necessary but they sure do make life a whole lot easier.

5) Make free time. You’ll need it.

Step #1: Bake the cake. Don’t worry if the cake’s cracked like mine is–that’s what the next step is for. ;)

Step #2: Crumb coat the cake with frosting of choice. This will act as both a “glue” to the fondant and a concealer to hide any imperfections. Before crumbcoating, you can also cut your cake in half and put buttercream in between to add moisture.

Step #3: Place the crumb-coated cake in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Me being my slightly dyslexic self, did Steps #2 and #3 in the wrong order…I put the cake in the fridge first and then crumb-coated it. Horrible mistake… unless you want a super dry cake.
(That rhymed!).

Step #4: Get all your fondant ready (Note: As stated in the pre-step steps above, the fondant should be made and/or bought before you make the cake, but prepared/shaped/rolled out after so it doesn’t dry out).

I made my own fondant with marshmallow fluff + powdered sugar the day before, rolled it into a ball, and placed it in the fridge the day before. SO easy! Then I used food coloring to color the fondant. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the food coloring process, otherwise my camera would be technicolored. I had to wear plastic gloves.

Step #5: Generously and I mean generously cover your counter top/ wooden board with powdered sugar. Take it from someone who nearly broke down in tears when the fondant kept sticking to the dang board.

Step #6: Roll out your “main” fondant. In this case, I used store-bought buttercream black fondant (If you want to save money, make your own fondant and only buy fondant if you need the colors red or black, since these are practically impossible to make with a small amount of dye. See? I learned stuff!). Place fondant over cake, and smooth it out.

Step #7: Shape your other fondant and decorate! :)

Of course the pictures probably make the process look like butterflies and rainbows… but man oh man was this time-consuming. And so many little obstacles along the way!

The most annoying challenges of making the iPhone cake:

1) Rolling the black fondant to place over the cake. This was so frustrating I was about to break down in tears–the shape was really difficult to get, since it had to cover a rectangle, and when I did finally get the shape, I couldn’t lift it without it sticking to the wooden board. After a few more tries, I realized all I had to do was make sure the board wasgenerously covered in powdered sugar so the fondant won’t stick.

2) Coloring the fondant. It wasn’t really difficult as it was annoying (On the plus side, I totally relearned my color wheel).

3) Making the icons was kind of tiring as well….and deciding which icons to use (if you know me, you know I’m the most indecisive person in the universe).

In spite of all these things, I’d totally do it again. :)


UPDATE:

Someone (who lives in Egypt) asked me to put details of what cake I used/ how I made the fondant. Here’s a little detail for those who want it:

I made a normal cake using this recipe:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Black-Magic-Cake/Detail.aspx (you don’t have to add the coffee if you don’t want to). But you can use any recipe you want. A pound cake recipe would be good, because the cake needs to be strong.

Then for the fondant, I bought the black fondant. I’m not sure where you can find it in Egypt, unfortunately… It’s really hard to make black fondant (practically impossible, especially for the amount you need), so I’m not sure exactly how you can do do the iPhone cake without it…
If you can’t find the black fondant, then try picking out a different cake to make. There’s so much stuff you can do with fondant!

For the colored fondant, I made it myself with something called marshmallow fluff. That’s most likely not in Egypt either, but very it’s easy to make using marshmallows and powdered sugar.
Here’s a link to the recipe for the fondant:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Marshmallow-Fondant/Detail.aspx

I’m sorry I didn’t give too much detail, it’s just that there’s a LOT of steps to working with fondant and I didn’t want to confuse anyone.
Just make sure you watch a lot of How-To fondant tutorials in order to work with the fondant.

Here’s how to color the fondant:
http://www.wilton.com/decorating/fondant/coloring-fondant.cfm

And some videos I watched for how to work with fondant:
http://monkeysee.com/play/15845-how-to-decorate-a-cake-with-fondant
http://monkeysee.com/play/986-cake-decorating-how-to-crumb-coat

Insha’Allah next time I work with fondant I’ll have a REAL step-by-step thing on how to do it…it’s just that I didn’t have time to get organized for the blog and everything.
Good luck you guys! If you have any more questions just ask on the blog (so other people can see the answers) and I’ll do my best to answer them :)

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Creation of the iPhone Cake, in pictures…sort of.

  1. Lean.Bean says:

    Muy magnifico! I know I’ve told a billion times, but start up your own freaking business already! You definitely got the talent ;)

  2. Em says:

    Make ME a cake like that, please!

  3. Blond Duck says:

    Popped in to say hi! That’s an awesome cake. And I love your sweet potato casserole!

  4. Hi :)
    Your cake looks really nice, I like the idea :)
    I have a tip you might find useful, when working with fondant, use corn starch instead of powdered sugar, to prevent stickyness on board and hands. It works better than the powdered sugar, and any remaining corn starch on the fondant can be brushed off, using a dry brush.
    Keep working with fondant, you’ll soon get the hang of it ;)

    • Thanks so much for the tip! I was just afraid to use cornstarch because in one of the how-to videos I watched, they said that cornstarch has a chemical reaction fondant. I was trying to stay on the safe side because I don’t know any better haha.
      Next time I’ll be sure to try it with cornstarch and see the difference. Thank you! :)

  5. Oh this is fantastic. I LOVE the cake and all the great info you provide for everyone. I just found you when you left a comment on my blog (thank you for your comment!) And I have one of those expert tips: when you color the fondant, try NOT wearing plastic gloves, then go to the dermatologist and watch his first glimpse of your hands. Really, it’s funny. (That happened to me. He looked so nervous, yet excited he might’ve discovered a new hand disease.)

  6. Oops, one more. Couldn’t find an email address to contact you, but I was wondering if you wanted your cake featured on ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com? I’m the editor, and I love all the info you provide here, especially to those new to fondant and cake decorating. (I post a picture and link to your blog, I don’t reprint anything.)

    • Oh sure, that would be wonderful! I saw your other website and loved it, so I’d be totally honored :)
      By the way, if you want to contact me, my email address is miss-anthropist @ live dot com. Thanks for reminding me to put a ‘Contact’ section on the site!

      (And ohh my goodness, your comment above about the dermatologist made me laugh! I REALLY need to try that!)

    • Oh and if you would send me the link once you put it up on the site, that would be great. :)

  7. You did an awesome job! I love it!

  8. cakebrain says:

    I just received an iPhone4 for my bday and I am a bit hooked on all the cool apps. I have been Foodspotting too. I think this love affair is going to be a long one! Great looking cake!

  9. okay! I just posted over at ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com :)

  10. Pingback: Top Posts of 2010! | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

  11. Fantastic endeavor! A lot of work, but obviously a labor of love that I’m sure your dad appreciated.

  12. Stevie says:

    This cake is really creative. I bet that you could sell loads of them, perhaps even approaching the number of the real thing that Apple produces, especially if you could make them small and wrap them like Hostess or Little Debbies for easy carrying. You’d be an millionaire within a few weeks.

  13. Pingback: Marshmallow (Fluff) Fondant | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

  14. I had to come see this…Wow! That is a fantastic cake and so creative :)

  15. be awake says:

    great solution — if someone wants to get an Iphone for a birthday’s gift, just make him/her a Iphone cake! :)

    newest post “polish citiZEN”:

    so you think you are zen? polish citiZEN will test you!

  16. mkeeffer says:

    What a great job you did on this – so glad to hear your Dad enjoyed it!

  17. donnahuebsch says:

    This cake is too incredible! I have been wanting to try making a fondant cake, but shied away because I thought it would be too complicated…I think now I might give it a try :)

  18. Minna says:

    Wow!! This cake is amazing!

  19. Pingback: Technology, Just Eat It | andyblumenthal

  20. Pingback: Technology, Just Eat It | andyblumenthal

  21. Desmond says:

    I was suggested this website by my cousin.

    I am not sure whether this post is written by
    him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You’re amazing! Thanks!

  22. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your
    article seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you
    get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

  23. There’s definately a lot to learn about this subject. I really like all of the points you have made.

  24. click here says:

    I love it when folks come together and share ideas.

    Great site, continue the good work!

  25. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be
    running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d
    post to let you know. The design look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon.
    Thanks

  26. Luella says:

    Hey there this is kinda of off topic but I
    was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  27. If you’re going to use it for cooking food for yourself only,
    then you can choose a small electric model that will be enough for that
    purpose. They do not disappoint when it comes to durability.

    Naturally propane gas is used for cooking and these grills are ideal if you want food cooked quickly while keeping that
    great grilled taste.

  28. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say
    excellent blog!

Leave a comment