Tiramisu Pancakes and some fun news!

Exciting news is at the end of this post! Let’s start with the goodies, shall we?
My friends, this isn’t a dessert (though it certainly can be).
This is your new favorite breakfast.

I have yet to meet a person who doesn’t like Tiramisu. And Tiramisu pancakes? Genius! I will be honest… I was so excited to make these babies when I discovered the recipe, that I used the pre-made frozen pancakes.

Don’t look at me like that, at least I made the cream! And sprinkled cocoa powder over it. That counts for something, right?

You would do the same.

But just in case you guys are patient enough to make your own, completely from-scratch pancakes, I will still provide you with a great pancake recipe as well as the recipe for the Tiramisu cream.

Well, I don’t have much else to say, except do yourselves a favor and make this. For breakfast, for dessert…it doesn’t really matter. Just make them!

Pancakes (adapted from Pioneer Woman’s “Perfect Pancakes“):

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Plus 2 Tablespoons Cake Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Baking Powder
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 cups Milk
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 3 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • Extra Butter
  • Maple Or Pancake Syrup

Directions

  1. Mix together dry ingredients in large bowl.
  2. Mix together milk, eggs, and vanilla in a separate bowl.
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, stirring very gently until just combined.
  4. Melt butter and add it to the batter, stirring gently to combine.
  5. Cook on a greased skillet over medium-low heat until golden brown.

Tiramisu cream and glaze, recipe from Ivory Hut (I removed the coffee liqueur and changed it to regular coffee)

Cream:

  • 4 oz. mascarpone cheese (don’t have Mascaropone cheese? Just use cream cheese, sour cream, and whipping cream. I’ve put a recipe below.)
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons coffee
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup

Directions: Put all ingredients together and keep mixing until it is whipped.

Glaze (optional…I didn’t add this):

  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
  • 2 tablespoons coffee

(Note: My cocoa got a little clumped on top because I tried sprinkling it with my hand…bad idea. It looks so much prettier when sprinkled with a sieve)

UPDATE

Substitute for Mascaropone Cheese (if you just want to make these pancakes you can divide this recipe by 2 or even 4 since this makes a lot). Adapted from www.Food.com

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons sour cream
  1. Combine well and use in recipes calling for Mascarpone cheese. It’s better not to use low-fat substitutes.

***

Time for the good news!

In case you didn’t already know, my iPhone cake got featured on Edible Crafts yesterday here!

The editor of Edible Crafts (also the blogger of The Decorated Cookie…which is an amazing blog I’m head-over-heels about), saw the iPhone cake two days ago and asked me if it was alright for her to put it up on Edible Crafts. …Alright? More like an honor!

Yes, I may be a tad over-hyped, but it’s only because:

1) I’m a newbie blogger, and to have people other than friends look through the blog is exciting in itself.

2) I certainly hadn’t expected my very first fondant cake to get such wonderful recognition.

3) The number of visitors on this blog tripled overnight.

With this kind of motivation, you guys can definitely expect more fondant cakes and decorated foods soon! :)

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tiramisu Pancakes and some fun news!

  1. reemy :D:D says:

    now for those poor souls that don’t have mascarpone lying around in every corner ne3mel feehom eh tayeb :(:( i wand the tiramisu pancakes REAL BAD!! etsarrafy (A)

  2. Oh my heavens this looks delicious! I would get out of bed on a cold, rainy day just to eat this for breakfast :)

  3. Em says:

    I never thought pancakes could look so good!

  4. Maya says:

    Nourhan, thanks for visiting my blog and so glad you did because it brought me right back here. I love what you’ve done here so far and these tiramisu pancakes look thoroughly delicious! Reading at the Q&A about you, it looks like we have so much in common, it’s kind of strange, but in nice way! ;-)

  5. Sukaina says:

    I’ve never imgained tiramisu could be paired with pancakes but I think you’ve pulled it off! Well done!

  6. OMG tiramisu if my favorite dessert hands down. This is heavenly!

  7. Pingback: Top Posts of 2010! | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

