Root Beer Cupcakes

Hi. I have a little math quiz for you.

My brother winning first place in a county writing competition (so proud!) [plus] the fact that my brother loves root beer (the nonalcoholic beverage of course!) [equals] …

Root beer cupcakes!

Fact: Root Beer Frosting is heavenly. Like, lick-your-fingers-and-the-whisks-and-the-bowl-heavenly.

Fact: I had no intention of watching The Royal Wedding but did anyway because everyone was getting a hernia over it. Call me old fashioned (and Muslim), but weddings nowadays have lost their charm because of all these prenuptial relationships (a person doesn’t exactly require marriage in order to conceive a child nowadays, if you catch my drift). I feel like since they were already together for 8 years (doing God knows what), it wasn’t really… “magical”, albeit an admittedly magnificent wedding altogether.

Back to the cupcakes! I bought root beer concentrate a while ago because they were non-alcoholic and I figured one day I’d probably make something for my brother, who happens to be a root beer aficionado, with it. These cupcakes couldn’t have turned out better (in my humble opinion).

The original recipe called for vanilla frosting and root beer filling (kind of like a root beer float), but I kind of misunderstood it and just went with root beer frosting. I regret nothing. Although I probably will try it one day.

It’s a root beer party in your mouth. Enjoy!

Root Beer Cupcakes (adapted from How Sweet It Is)
makes 12 cupcakes

  • 1 1/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder (I didn’t have dark cocoa powder so I used my regular unsweetened cocoa powder with a few pieces of dark chocolate…worked out great)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons root beer concentrate
  • 1/3 cup root beer
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a bowl, whisk egg and sugar until smooth and no lumps remain. Add cream, butter and vanilla, and mix until combined. Stir in sour cream. Sift dry ingredients together and add to wet mixture. Add root beer concentrate and root beer. Mix until batter is smooth. Line a muffin tin with liners and using a heaping 1/4 cup measure, add batter to each cup. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Let cool before frosting.

Root Beer Frosting

  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon root beer extract
  • Optional: I added a teeny bit of molasses
  1. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter until smooth. On low speed, add powdered sugar one cup at a time, increasing speed to bring the frosting together. Add milk and vanilla extract. Beat until smooth. Add root beer extract to remaining frosting in the bowl and beat until it comes together.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Root Beer Cupcakes

  1. Amen to so many things in this post. I’ve a big root beer fan, so you had me at hello.

    Also, I didn’t watch the royal wedding, although for sure I checked out all those crazy hats people wore online afterward. I tend to be more old-fashioned, too, so the fact that they had been together for so long took some of the magic out of it for me, too. I wish marriage were a little higher in people’s priorities sometimes.

  2. Sherilyn says:

    Thanks for your recent comment on my blog. It was very kind of you. These look absolutely delicious as does the rest of your blog.

  3. Kathy says:

    Love the root beer cupcakes..I never heard of root beer concentrate before. I definitely have to try these..they look fabulous! I’m in a cupcake kind of mood!

  4. Wow, gorgeous cupcakes! They sound incredibly tasty!

  5. Amy says:

    I love root beer. These are like a root beer float in cake form..yum!

  6. Victoria says:

    I’m gonna go out on a limb and say your root beer frosting trumps the traditional vanilla one it suggested. I stand by my statement. These look fantastic, and even though I’m not a serious root beer lover, I could always find room in my heart and stomach to try these babies :)

  7. Geni says:

    My 16 year old son will go crazy for these! I am so excited to surprise him with some soon! Great and unique post.

  8. Those rootbeer cupcakes look simply fascinating!

  9. Tanvi says:

    These cupcakes look great.I did not spoil my sleep over the wedding though I did watch the repeat telecast mainly for Kate’s dress and the hats!

  10. brandi says:

    those look so good! I’ve never been able to have my frosting look like that ;)

  11. Faith says:

    Love the idea of root beer cupcakes! Your frosting is gorgeous!

  12. You made me smile with the wedding write-up; I did not want to watch it but did watch a few minutes here and there; it was quite a show! These cupcakes would delight my son too.

  13. Oooh! I think I would have to double this recipe – 12 would disappear way to fast! lol

  14. Dani says:

    I had no idea there was such a thing as Root Beer extract! Your cupcakes look awesome! I will be trying your recipe very soon!

  15. Muslim Wife says:

    Assalaam Alaikum! Ahh, I love it here!!! Totally hooked to your kitchen, can’t wait to spend some time digging thru your archives insha’allah :)

  16. That’s the way I felt about the wedding too! I didn’t watch it, but looked at pictures. Like, it was just a way to make their long relationship official. I don’t find much magic in that either. I DO find magic in these cupcakes though. Wow! Looks great!

  17. I love root beer but it’s never occurred to me to put it in a cupcake! What a great idea and delicious recipe, thanks!

  18. Juliana says:

    Wow root beer cupcakes and frosting…they look delicious…I never seen root beer concentrate…the pictures are awesome. Have a great week :-)

  19. Simply Life says:

    oh this is so creative! I love root beer so I’m sure I would love these!

  20. What a nice sister you are to make such a great treat for your brother!

  21. OohLookBel says:

    You can never have enough root beer. Frosting with it was definitely a top idea!

  22. Holly says:

    OH MY GOSH! I am LOVIN these cupcakes! I am definatley going to try these. My kids (and myself) will devour them : )

  23. Erin says:

    These sound amazing! I love Root Beer!!! Never even crossed my mind to make it into frosting…….yyyyyuuuuuummmmmm!!! Thanks!

  24. oneordinaryday says:

    These photos are stunning, as always. My Claudia loves root beer too, so I know these would be a HUGE hit with her.

  25. meeshiesmom says:

    I just saw a rootbeer cake, but this is ingenious! Bookmarked this one for sure.
    Karen

Leave a comment