Cheesecake-Marbled Brownies

Stop the presses!

In my kitchen I have created something so delicious they should be considered a sin–but no. We’ll call it a marriage. A marriage between two magnificent desserts, and this is their one hundred percent, legitimate, beautiful, yummy child.

This dessert should be called “breezecake” for two significant reasons. The first reason is obvious… brownies + cheesecake = breezecake. But the second reason is because they’re a breeze to make (albeit messy if you’re me).

Taste and poor-naming aside, I absolutely adore the marble effect. So much fun!

Just make sure you have a gym membership or a working treadmill…kay?

Cheesecake-Marbled Brownies (adapted from Epicurious from Gourmet, 2007)

Brownie Batter

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped (I used 3 ounces–which is about 11 rectangles– of Hershey’s dark mildly sweetened chocolate. It turned out perfectly)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour

Cheesecake Batter

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, well softened
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

Make brownie batter:

  1. Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Butter an 8-inch square baking pan.
  2. Heat butter and chocolate in a 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderately low heat, whisking occasionally, just until melted. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla, and a pinch of salt until well combined. Whisk in flour until just combined and spread in baking pan.

Make cheesecake batter and bake brownies:

  1. Whisk together cheesecake batter ingredients in a small bowl until smooth. Dollop over brownie batter, then swirl in with a knife or spatula.
  2. Bake until edges are slightly puffed and center is just set, about 35 minutes.
  3. Serve warm or at room temperature.
This entry was posted in Brownies, Cheesecakes. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Cheesecake-Marbled Brownies

  1. Tine says:

    Hé, looks good!
    I’m curious about the inside of the cake!

  2. Kathy says:

    Oh wow, do these look wonderful! I have to give them a try one day, when I’m having my grandchildren over. They would love these!

  3. These are definitely a delicious deterrent to exercise! Ha! I like the bits of chocolate bar in the brownies.

  4. HAHAHAHA I have a gym membership! let me at em!!! <3

  5. Cathy says:

    Wow, awesome! I love this ;)

  6. Those marbled brownies look fantastic!

  7. These would make me faint from utter Nirvana. Oh happy day! Thanks for thinking and sharing such a delicious, decadent and creatively wonderful dessert!

  8. oneordinaryday says:

    I’ve gotta look for my mom’s recipe, cause this is reminding me of them. Wish I had about 3 nice bit pieces right now. : )

  9. Megan says:

    Oh my! I wish I could be there to eat these, I am drooling just looking at those photos! Looks very yummy!!

  10. Tanvi says:

    These look amazing.I love how beautifully u ve done the swirls.Very neat job and looks yum.

  11. Wonderful sweet treats, very pretty with the marble effect!

  12. aipi says:

    Those look positively sinful. loved the neat swirls :)

    US Masala

  13. Joanne says:

    You’ve gone and combined two of my favorite desserts in this world. My poor thighs. They are in for a rough week.

  14. Juliana says:

    Wow, what a lovely combination of flavors…I love how you marble it…so pretty :-)

  15. I need to make these brownies. ASAP! These look divine!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  16. These look lovely – I cannot wait to try them out on the family. :)

  17. Joyti says:

    Yum! I’ve actually made cheesecake brownies before (with matcha powder) but yours are so much prettier – you did a fabulous job with the swirling.

  18. OohLookBel says:

    hi Nourhan, I love your blog, it’s so chatty and friendly. I like these brownies, too, because of the yummy cheesecake *drool*

  19. Kankana says:

    I was speechless when i saw this … brownie and cheese cake.. that was some good marriage .. good good work . I have to make this someday .. will let ya know :)

  20. The brownies I’ve made lately haven’t turned out so well. These look so good, what to send me some :)?

  21. Oh wow! These look so delicious, what a great combination :)

  22. How fun to marble the top! I wouldn’t have thought it was easy to do, but if you say so… Oh, and I would definitely make a mess with it too. :)

  23. Oh my goodness, these look so delicious and decadent – wow! What I wouldn’t do for just one bite of that… Great recipe and beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing. :)

  24. Simply Life says:

    oh. my. gosh. these look incredible!

  25. Sweet Artichoke says:

    Oh la la! A combination of two of my favourite desserts! The swirls on the top are so pretty, and I bet it must taste heavenly :-)

  26. Awesome brownies, very decadent :), hand one over here because i spend half my life on the treadmill anyways. Hey, maybe I’ll eat these on the treadmill… that would be sooooo naughty, no?
    I’m doing a give away on my blog for $80 Amazon gift card :), do stop over and enter!
    *kisses* HH

  27. These look perfect for a “I am going to treat myself” kind of evening!

  28. lena says:

    i made something similiar last week but it’s not posted up yet and yours look absolutely beautiful! a very nice treat!

  29. Hannah says:

    Yes yes yes yes. This is perfect! I’ve been craving cheesecake for months but am too scared to make a whole one as I’m lactose-intolerant and will make myself sick from that mch cheesecake… but the idea of a cheesecakey brownie? Yes yes yes yes ;)

  30. Victoria says:

    Haha! You’re so clever… breezecake, I love it! Looks delicious too :)

  31. i love how good this looks! thank you for sharing this and have a great day!

  32. i love cheesecakes and chocolate cheesecake is one of my weakness. So hard to stay away from.
    love your marble breezecake. yummy

  33. wowowowow! today must be my lucky day. I’m so happy I stumbled across your blog, otherwise I may never have found these beauties (or at least not for awhile:P)
    These look delicious and I can’t wait to make them very soon!!

Leave a Reply

