Bear With Me…

First of all, I just wanted to thank everyone who commented on the Egyptian situation in the last post. You guys are so sweet! Second of all, I wanted to apologize for not being able to keep up with all of your blogs recently…I’ve just been really preoccupied with everything going on at the moment. :(

I have a few recipes I wanted to share with you, I really do, but it just seems like awful timing. I just can’t bring myself to blog about food while Egypt is in the midst of a revolution. Egypt isn’t just my home country–it’s my home. Just 9 months ago, my whole life was there. I had been living there for 8 years (and I’m 18 at the moment), so you can imagine how much I had going on back there.

I come from a more privileged background (alhamdullilah) than most Egyptians, who are living in poverty, and I had lived a good life there. Good home, great university, and amazing family and friends. The Egyptian people are so wonderful, and they’ve been proving it more and more nonstop for over a week now.

Back to my point: I can’t blog much these days, but I will definitely try my best to continue blogging as soon as possible, especially if it’s Egypt-related like my Egyptian Flag sugar cookies or a new Egyptian meal.

Speaking of Egyptian meals… Simply Life had a Reader’s Challenge where her readers suggested which country whose food they’d like to blog about. Many chose countries like Morocco, France, and Italy, but with everything going on, I suggested Egypt. I didn’t think Egypt would actually be chosen since it was a minority, but to my delight, it was! So on February 7th, I will most definitely be posting an Egyptian meal (insha’Allah).

Hopefully the Egyptian president will be gone by then. :)

Love you guys!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Bear With Me…

  1. Faith says:

    I can imagine how preoccupied you must be with everything that’s going on at the moment. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Egypt, Nourhan! Can’t wait to see your upcoming post on an Egyptian meal! (I’m hoping it’s molokhia, one of my favs! ;) )

  2. oneordinaryday says:

    I’ve thought about you every time my msnbc homepage pops up. Sending prayers for peace.

  3. oneordinaryday says:

    I also wanted to tell you that I understand the blogging thing too. I feel odd getting back to it when my sister is still struggling. I’m taking her cue and moving forward.

    • I know you of all people can definitely relate to how I feel about blogging after a crisis, and I’m so glad you’re moving forward. I’m waiting for this thing to get resolved so I can move forward as well. :)

  4. Totally understandable. I had several Egyptian friends in college and they were all extremely intelligent, kind and funny. I know that they’re worried about the country as well. I look forward to when you’re feeling up to posting again!

  5. Victoria says:

    It’s most important to take care of the other things in your life right now. Blogging will always be here when you get back :) Good luck with everything and my thoughts are definitely with you and all the people of Egypt.

  6. Maya K. says:

    Hey Nourhan, I’m Egyptian too and just as stressed out over the situation. I’m posting this from Dubai- my mom wouldn’t let me go back to uni last weekend but hopefully I’ll be travelling back this weekend. If it makes you feel any better, the situation is much better and it’s getting more under control with each passing day..isA el mawdoo3 ye3ady 3la 5eir we tet7al mashakel el nas a5eeran :)

    • Hi Maya! Thanks so much for your comment, it’s so good to hear from an Egyptian! I really do believe the situation is getting better…isA they’ll get what they’re fighting for and you’ll be able to safely travel back to Egypt soon and head back to university!
      W ameen ya rab :)

  7. Tanvi says:

    Take your time and settle down until you feel good.I feel really stressed out looking at situation out there on news these days so I can imagine how you would be feeling.My best wishes and prayers are there with you and loved ones.Take care :)

  8. Joanne says:

    I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that everything turns out okay!

  9. Simply Life says:

    I hope your family and friends are doing well – thanks for posting about this, I can’t wait to see what you share!

  10. Juliana says:

    I hope everything turns out for the best….I can only imagine how you feel…hope your family and friends and safe.

  11. Take care sweetie, my thoughts and prayers will be for peace and justice (hopefully both can occur together).

  12. Keep your spirits up daaaahling. Things will get better. In the meantime, I wish you a clear head and peace.
    *kisses* HH

  13. Simply Life says:

    Just wanted to say I’ve continued to think about you and hope you and your family are doing well.

  14. Kathy says:

    I know you are preoccupied lately but I want you to know that I really enjoy your blog and am passing on the ‘Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award’ to you. Your blog is lovely and you are fun to read! My thoughts are with you and your country. I will look forward to your writings in the future. Until then, God be with you and your country!

  15. Hope you come back to blogging soon! By the way, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and have awarded you a “Stylish Blogger Award”! Check it out at http://yummychunklet.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/another-stylish-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

