Pop Tarts and Pop Hearts

I promise you this is not a tribute to Valentine’s Day. I just happened to think heart-shaped pop tarts would be adorable.

And they were.

Technically I made homemade mini-pies since I used pie crust. Please don’t hate me. I really hate not making things from scratch but my mother continues to buy the pre-made crusts (darn you, Pillsbury!) and would kill me if I made my own crust when there’s already some in the fridge.

I knew when I first saw homemade pop tarts (or mini-pies…whatever you want to call them) on the internet I needed to make them, but I wanted to add my own twist to it. More specifically, I was looking for an excuse to use my cookie cutters (in case you didn’t already know, I bought a 101 cookie cutter set about a week ago).

I decided to make them heart-shaped. The red strawberry jam made these heart-shaped treats even more enjoyable.

Of course, I had to make at least one rectangle pop tart. I didn’t have any rectangle cookie cutters, so I just cut out a rectangle with a pizza cutter. (Fun fact: I got this pizza cutter for 30 cents! It was on clearance. I love it when things are on clearance).

If I’m going to be frank with you, I thought the dough-to-filling ratio was a little off…too crusty. It wasn’t very pop-tart-like. So I just added a little bit of the leftover filling sauce (you can just add regular jam) on top of the pop tart after it cooled, and it made all the difference! Add as much extra jam as you desire.

I’m going to give you guys both methods–my way and King Arthur Flour’s (and Smitten Kitchen’s) way. Mine is clearly a lot simpler (with premade pie crust + jam filling) but everyone who used the other recipe seems to have really enjoyed it. Here you guys go!

My method:

Ingredients:

  • Pie Crust
  • Jam filling

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Cut pie crust into 2 identical shapes (or rectangles).
  3. Fill with jam
  4. Pinch together dough.
  5. Poke holes (or slits) in dough to let steam out when baking.
  6. Optional: Refrigerate
  7. Heat for about 20 minutes, until lightly golden
  8. Cool and spread more jam over the top
  9. Enjoy!

OTHER RECIPE:

Homemade Pop Tarts
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Pastry

  • 2 cups (8 1/2 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks or 8 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into pats
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons (1 ounce) milk
  • 1 additional large egg (to brush on pastry)

Jam Filling

  • 3/4 cup (8 ounces) jam
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with 1 tablespoon cold water (I don’t know about this…I think jam alone would be fine)

Mix the jam with the cornstarch/water in a small saucepan. Bring the mixture to a boil, and simmer, stirring, for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat, and set aside to cool. Use to fill the pastry tarts.

Alternate fillings: 9 tablespoons chocolate chips, 9 tablespoons Nutella or other chocolate-hazelnut paste or 9 tablespoons of a delight of your choice, such as salted caramel or a nut paste

Directions (for dough):

  1. Whisk together the flour, sugar, and salt. Work in the butter with your fingers, pastry blender or food processor until pea-sized lumps of butter are still visible, and the mixture holds together when you squeeze it. If you’ve used a food processor, transfer the mixture to a large bowl.
  2. Whisk the first egg and milk together and stir them into the dough, mixing just until everything is cohesive, kneading briefly on a well-floured counter if necessary.
  3. Divide the dough in half (approximately 8 1/4 ounces each), shape each half into a smooth rectangle, about 3×5 inches. You can roll this out immediately or wrap each half in plastic and refrigerate for up to 2 days.
  4. If the dough has been chilled, remove it from the refrigerator and allow it to soften and become workable, about 15 to 30 minutes. Place one piece on a lightly floured work surface, and roll it into a rectangle and cut about nine 3″ x 4″ rectangles.
  5. Beat the additional egg and brush it over the entire surface of the first dough. This will be the “inside” of the tart; the egg is to help glue the lid on. Place a heaping tablespoon of filling into the center of each rectangle, keeping a bare 1/2-inch perimeter around it. Place a second rectangle of dough atop the first, using your fingertips to press firmly around the pocket of filling, sealing the dough well on all sides. Press the tines of a fork all around the edge of the rectangle. Repeat with remaining tarts.
  6. Gently place the tarts on a lightly greased or parchment-lined baking sheet. Prick the top of each tart multiple times with a fork; you want to make sure steam can escape, or the tarts will become billowy pillows rather than flat toaster pastries.
  7. Refrigerate the tarts (they don’t need to be covered) for 30 minutes, while you preheat your oven to 350°F.
  8. Remove the tarts form the fridge, and bake them for 20 to 25 minutes, until they’re a light golden brown. Cool in pan on rack.

Enjoy! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Pop Tarts and Pop Hearts

  1. Faith says:

    These pop tarts and pop hearts are so pretty! And mmm, strawberry jam is my favorite. ;) I love how you got that pizza cutter for $.30!! (I can never resist a great bargain like that!) Hope you have a wonderful Monday, darling!

  2. Tine says:

    Waw, nice!
    Too beautiful to eat them! :)

  3. Blond Duck says:

    Oh, this is such a precious idea!

  4. Mary says:

    These are really clever and great to keep in mind for the coming holiday. I’m new to your blog and have been browsing through your earlier entries. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. briarrose says:

    What a fun recipe! I love the heart shapes.

  6. These would make great after school snacks. It’s fun to make too!

  7. Tanvi says:

    I always buy pop tarts from stores and just warm them in toaster.I love the recipe from scratch that u ve given.Home made is always good.Love your blog and the recipes

  8. So cute! I love homemade pop tarts, strawberry is my favorite!

  9. oneordinaryday says:

    Couldn’t be any cuter. Homemade poptarts are another one of my saved recipes. One of these days!

  10. Joanne says:

    I haven’t had Pop Tarts in forever but these are bringing back all sorts of sugar-filled memories! I love the heart-shaped idea. Perfect for V-Day…but also for a random rainy Tuesday. Case in point.

  11. Evan Thomas says:

    These are so artful! I’d (almost) feel bad eating them. When I was 8 or so I think I ate one of those savory toaster strudels for breakfast every day.

  12. Megan says:

    Love these! And I am totally jealous of your awesome deal for that pizza cutter. I love great deals like that.

  13. Valentine’s Day coming soon. I just bookmarked your recipe to make these cute hearts :) Thanks!

  14. Simply Life says:

    oh my gosh, these are way too cute and creative! I love it!

  15. Hannah says:

    Oh my, these are so cute I almost can’t stand it! I’ve never considered making Pop Tarts from scratch (probably because we don’t even have normal pop tarts in Canberra!) I might have to make them for Valentine’s Day for just myself. Who says single people can’t have things in a heart shape? :P

  16. How flipping amazing!!! They are so cute! I would want to carry it around with me all day and not eat it b/c its so cute =) ok i’d totally eat it in like .5 seconds =)

  17. bakebooks says:

    I LOVE this! I must try it…I think I’d want to eat it raw…;) Oops?

  18. Oh these are just adorable. I’ve been wanting to try making my own pop tarts for a while now, I certainly have enough jam, that’s for sure!
    *kisses* HH

  19. this looks so cute and pretty. thanks for sharing this post:)

  20. Mini pies are so much fun (I made them a few months ago), but mini pop tarts are so creative and cute! Thanks for sharing your awesome recipes and photos!

  21. Pingback: Date Bars | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

  22. Kori says:

    Oh my goodness, A D O R A B L E . Love the hearts!!!

  23. Lauren says:

    How cute are these?!? Way better than pre-made Pop Tarts, no doubt :) Love the heart-shaped ones too!

  24. cakebrain says:

    oh wow! leave it to you to think of an innovative way to make pop tarts better!
    That looks so cute! My girls would love it!

  25. peacebeme says:

    Wow, what a cute idea – especially to make with kids. I just found your blog and there are so many cute baking ideas on here, glad I found it! :)

Leave a Reply

