Oreo Truffles

Brace yourself…because I’m about to use one of the most overused words on the food blogosphere to describe these oreo truffles:

Decadent.

It’s a word I’ve been avoiding since I started food blogging, but with these truffles, it’s inevitable. It’s really the first word that comes to mind when you’re savoring one (or two) of them. I actually halved this recipe because I thought it would be too much for my family to handle, but I wouldn’t recommend doing that. They go fast.

And guess what? No baking is required whatsoever. Just crushing, mixing, forming, and coating.

If the no-bake fact wasn’t able to persuade you to make these, how about this– there’s only 3 ingredients! Insane. They’re bite-sized, too…and as we all agreed upon last time, bite-sized = better. They’re a triple-threat.

I have nothing else to say. Make these today, love me forever.

Easy Oreo Truffles (adapted from Baker’s Chocolate Oreo Truffle recipe)
Makes about 35 truffles

Ingredients

  • 1 (16 ounce) package OREO Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, divided
  • 1 (8 ounce) package Cream Cheese, softened (I used half full-cream and half fat-free)
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate, melted (I used melting chocolate)

Directions

  1. Crush 4 of the cookies to fine crumbs in food processor (I didn’t use a food processor because I couldn’t find it my family was sleeping.); reserve for later use. (Cookies can also be finely crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.)
  2. Crush remaining cookies to fine crumbs; place in medium bowl. Add cream cheese; mix until well blended.
  3. Roll cookie mixture into 42 balls, about 1-inch in diameter.
  4. Place truffle ball in melted chocolate to coat; roll if necessary. Lift truffle from chocolate using 2 forks (this will allow excess chocolate to run off) before placing on wax paper-covered baking sheet. (Any leftover chocolate can be stored at room temperature for another use.)
  5. Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs, or sprinkles.
  6. Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Store leftover truffles, covered, in refrigerator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Oreo Truffles

  1. Faith says:

    Decadent looks like the perfect word to describe these little beauties! They look like a lot of fun to make too, I think my little niece would love to make them with me!

  2. Em says:

    they look adorable!

  3. Mmmm…these could be dangerous!! Yum!

  4. whathappensafter5 says:

    I just made truffles a few weeks ago – amazing how easy they are to make at home!

    http://happensafterfive.wordpress.com

  5. Sheena says:

    Oh, these look so good and I imagine they’re very addictive.

  6. Omg, these are Oreo Truffles!? I knew the flavor was reminiscent, I just couldn’t attribute it to anything. Good stuff.

  7. HOLY WOW! My fam. would absolutely go crazy for these. Maybe this will be a project with the kids this weekend. Thanks for such a yummy and “decadent” looking recipe.

  8. Maggie says:

    Yummmm, I made these back in the summer, and I couldn’t believe the response to them at work for something so easy!

  9. I made these a couple years ago and they were quite the hit! I forgot about them, such a fabulous and easy treat! Great job!

  10. Excellent recipe to make with my 4 year old niece who loves loves to cook, especially anything involving chocolate!

  11. Oh yes, the Oreo Truffles that everyone loves so much! These get eaten quickly at my house. Here’s my take on them this past holiday season, Peppermint Oreo Balls:
    http://thescenefromme.com/2010/12/06/peppermint-oreo-balls/

  12. Rabiya says:

    will it get too sweet if i use milk chocolate?

    nice blog you have here mashaAllah!

    • JazakAllahukhayran!
      You mean for the outside, correct? No, I don’t think it will be too sweet at all since it’s only a coat for the actual truffle. It may not harden as quickly as melting chocolate but I’m fairly certain it will work if you refrigerate the truffles right away :)

Leave a Reply

