Garlic Bread Knots (and Blog Awards!)

Note to self:
When working with yeast, and the recipe tells you to wait until dough is doubled, wait until the dough is doubled. Do not get impatient with your incompetent yeast and go right on ahead with baking.

Although these garlic knots didn’t turn out soft and puffy as initially planned (my yeast is cruel), they still turned out fantastic–you know a recipe is good when you screw up and everyone still loves it.

But before I begin talking about these garlic rolls, I have some exciting news!

Yesterday Maya of the wonderful and exotic blog Foodiva’s Kitchen presented me with 2 blog awards! Although I don’t know Maya personally, she has been a big supporter of my small blog and is one of the sweetest and most talented people you’ll ever meet. Be sure to check her blog out– it is filled with amazing recipes and ingredients you probably didn’t know existed (did you know there’s a purple sweet potato? I didn’t!).

Now, to be honest, I don’t really know how these blog awards work. I’m not certain whether they’re an annual thing, or something that’s passed on…but I do know that if you receive an award, your blog is admired. And I couldn’t be happier. :)

Here are the 2 wonderful awards I received:

1) A Fabulous Blog Award:


2) 360 degree Foodie Award:

Thank you so much, Maya, I’m honored. :)

Now, back to the garlic knots!

Since the past 3 recipes have been devoted to cookies, I thought a savory recipe was long due. I discovered this recipe from the very cool blog Lick My Spoon and knew that I had to make these (as you may already know, I love garlic).

Unfortunately, something went wrong with the proofing. I’m not sure what the reason was, but the yeast didn’t rise properly. I blame using instant yeast instead of active dry…and my lack of a bread machine.

Despite this, they managed to turn out wonderfully! I could actually imagine buying these from a bakery (though I’m not sure what they would be called…). They reminded me of pizza crusts.

And the garlic sauce?
Ah-mazing.


I will still definitely give this recipe another shot to make them soft and puffy as soon as I buy some active dry yeast.

Enjoy this recipe. You can’t go wrong! :)

Garlic Knot Recipe
Makes about 40 knots

Dough

  • 1 3/4 c (415ml) Warm Water (@115°F)
  • 1/4 c (55g) Olive Oil
  • 1 t (5g) Sea Salt (I used regular salt)
  • 1 T (15g) Sugar
  • 1 1/2 T (20g) Active Dry Yeast
  • approx. 5 1/2 c (750 g) all-pupose, unbleached Flour

Garlic Coating

  • 1/8 c (30ml) Olive Oil
  • 2 T (30g) unsalted Butter
  • 4 cloves Garlic, finely crushed
  • 1/4 c (60ml) finely chopped fresh Italian Parsley

Directions:

  1. (Note: if you’re using instant yeast, be sure to follow instructions on yeast packet) Add dough ingredients to breadmaker according to breadmaker instructions. If you’re kneading by hand, mix all ingredients except the flour. Then add flour and mix to incorporate.
  2. Cover and place in a warm area until doubled in size (I usually put it in a warm oven to proof).
  3. Split the dough into four large balls and each ball into a further 10 balls. This will give you a total of 40 balls. Take a ball and roll into a rope about 5 inches tall.
  4. Roll this rope into a bowl of flour so it’s completely covered with flour and then shake off any excess.
  5. Tie a knot (over, under and through) and place on a baking sheet with at least 1 1/2 inch space between the knots. Continue until all knots are done.
  6. Cover baking sheet and let it rise for the second time in a warm place.
  7. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit. When the knots have doubled in size, place in the middle rack in the oven for 12-15 minutes or until they turn golden brown.
  8. While the knots are baking, prepare the garlic coating by heating the oilve oil, butter and garlic in a pan. Add parsley and set aside. When the knots come out of the oven, immediately toss them in the garlic coating. Season with salt and serve warm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Garlic Bread Knots (and Blog Awards!)

  1. Em says:

    looks AMAZING! and congrats on the awards!

  2. Sukaina says:

    Congratulations on your first blog award Nourhan. And you knots looks great. Somebody once told me that if your yeast comes into contact with oil, it won’t work (don’ know how true it is though). Perhaps that’s why they didn’t rise. Also, make sure your yeast is fresh. They look great anyhow and who cares- everyone that ate it liked it right!!

    • That’s strange, I’ve never heard of that! Didn’t the recipe call for oil, though? Next time I’ll try adding the oil last, right before I mix all of the ingredients. Thanks for the tip! :)

  3. Congratulations on the blog awards! What a great way to celebrate with these delicious garlic knots – I’ve been needing a recipe for them, and now I’ve got one. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Maya says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Nourhan. You totally deserve the awards, and if you want, you can pass them on to other bloggers you admire. Btw, these garlic bread knots are making me hungry… the only snag to baking using yeast is the torturous rising time! Yeast is, indeed, cruel. ;-)

  5. this pizza knots looks so good. it really bring me back to the time when my husband and i were dating, and we use to hang out at this pizza place in jersey. thank you for sharing this and congrats on your award:)

  6. Faith says:

    Oh wow, do these look amazing! I’m definitely making them soon! Congrats on your beautiful awards!

  7. I’m totally drooling! You had me at garlic!!!! <3

  8. Pingback: Perfect Pita Bread (and Some Happy News) | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

  9. Georganne says:

    Oh that bread looks SOO good. I want to eat it right now, right off my screen!

Leave a Reply

