Blueberry Muffins

I love asking people for help on decisions.
Mainly because I’m the most indecisive person in the world…
And if I hadn’t, I might not have made these amazing blueberry muffins.

I was in a pickle, you see (not literally. Just in case you have Asperger’s. It’s an autism spectrum disorder, and one of the characteristics of the disorder is that the person might understand everything too literally…yes, I  just read a book about Asperger’s).

Back to the pickle: I couldn’t decide what to bake with the wonderful blueberries in the fridge. The problem had to be resolved as soon as possible because I was eating them all.

The little blueberries were begging me to bake them so I decided to ask yet another Facebook question. Blueberry pie or blueberry muffins? I was surprised to see that everyone wanted muffins. I don’t know why…I personally would have voted for the pie. Maybe blueberry pie scares people.

Anyway, since the vote was unanimous (and I didn’t have enough blueberries to make pie anymore, ahem), I made you guys blueberry muffins! Yay! The people have spoken! Power to the people!

I’ll stop now, I promise.

I loved these because:

1) They’re blueberry muffins! Who doesn’t like blueberry muffins?

2) It didn’t make the kitchen messy AT ALL. Everything was dumped into a bowl and mixed by hand, which makes me happy. Believe me, it’ll make your moms happy, too.

3) I finally decided to give these new scrapbook papers a try for being the background! This actually has nothing to do with the muffins, but still… it was fun. :)

They’re absolutely delish! Especially with the sugar-cinnamon coating.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

Crumb coating (this is the recipe I used):

  • 2/3 cup brown sugar (or white, you can use whichever)
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon butter.

OR you can use the original crumb coat recipe here, but I’ve read that it causes the muffin to sink, so I don’t know.

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Use fork to mix and has nice coarse texture.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  3. Make crumb topping and sprinkle over muffins before baking.(Note: If you want smooth-topped blueberries, like the one in the picture, skip this and put the crumb topping mixture after you bake. I think you should just put before and after though. :) )
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.
  5. With your extra sugar mixture, put on top of blueberries.
  6. Eat either warm or at room temperature (I think they’re better at room temperature).
This entry was posted in Muffins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blueberry Muffins

  1. Em says:

    okay, can you come over my house and give me one of those cute muffins?

  2. You read my mind! I was JUST thinking about making blueberry muffins!

  3. Pingback: Mini Cheesecake Galore | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

  4. heguiberto says:

    Miss Anthropist, these blueberry muffins look divine! I agree with you I bet the crumb flavored with cinnamon gave it an extra special flavor.
    Great pics!
    Heguiberto

Leave a Reply

