Zucchini Bread

I bet some of you may be thinking “Whaaa? Zucchini in a dessert? Gross!”. And I understand. I thought the very exact thing…until I decided to give it a try.

The word “bread” in the title is actually a misnomer in a way. It’s meant to be shaped like a loaf of bread (though I don’t have a loaf pan so I just baked it in a regular pan), but it’s actually a cake. A wonderfully simple, light, cinnamony, moist, delicious cake. That’s 5 adjectives and an adverb right there.

I made this cake so many times the first week I discovered it, because it kept getting finished so quickly. This is such a great recipe that everyone can love, and the best part is that it can be eaten as either a breakfast (with cream cheese like the picture above…it was my dad’s idea), as a light snack (plain) or as a dessert (with cream cheese frosting). I honestly can’t say I’ve tried it with cream cheese frosting (though I know it would be absolutely delish), but the plain cake without anything on top is fantastic…and this is coming from a frosting-fanatic.

Another great thing about this recipe (especially for those of you watching your figures): you can substitute the oil for applesauce and have it taste the same exact way! Applesauce = fat free = happier you. It’s amazing. This is one of the rare dishes where you can feel completely guilt free while eating it.

Still have doubts about how it tastes? You don’t taste the zucchini whatsoever, the same way you don’t taste the carrots in carrot cake (in fact, it tastes very similar to carrot cake). The zucchini is only there for moisture. The main flavor is light cinnamon and moist cake-y-ness.

Make this cake, and it will probably be your go-to cake from now on. :)

Here’s the wondrous recipe! (adapted from allrecipe.com’s Mom’s Zucchini Bread Recipe):

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4-5 teaspoon baking powder (Note: I don’t use baking soda anymore due to how fast it expires. I learned the hard way when I made cookies that turned out flatter than pancakes. Baking powder, on the other hand, has never failed me. But, if you want: (OR: 1 teaspoon baking soda + 1 teaspoon baking powder, like the original recipe calls for)
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (You can substitute 1/2 cup applesauce + 1/2 cup vegetable oil, which turns out just as amazing, OR all applesauce, though I’ve never tried that)
  • 2 1/4 cups white sugar (I think 2 cups is fine)
  • 3 teaspoons imitation vanilla (Note: I stopped using any extracts due to the alcohol in them)
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • Chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Grease and flour pan Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Sift flour, salt, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.
  3. Beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well (Note: If you’re using a stand mixer, then at this point, be sure to use a dough hook, and not a regular whisk). Stir in zucchini and nuts until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zucchini Bread

  1. Em says:

    Hmm I may have to try this! :)

  2. Marwa says:

    My comment is resting in ur inbox =) =)

Leave a Reply

