Mushroom and Potato Cream Soup, woop woop!

Sometimes I wish the computer would have a scratch-n-sniff feature, because if you took one whiff of this creamy mushroom-y soup, you would be wondering why you’re not running to your kitchen and making it.

I can’t stress enough on how good this soup smells! Even if you can’t imagine the smell, doesn’t it look so tempting? (Do you realize how difficult it is for a picture of soup to be tempting? My family was laughing at me the entire photoshoot). It’s soo much better than that icky canned stuff/ powdered things you find at your grocery store. It is truly restaurant-worthy and you will undoubtedly receive requests for an encore.

I know it’s not like me to cook so much, but what can I say? Everyone in my family seems to be on a diet, even though no one is overweight (alright, I’ll admit that I’m included in the “weight-watching” statistic, but come on. I just want to bake!).

So I decided to make food that they will be forced to eat (ie, dinner). The point is…I actually enjoy cooking now! I have sooo much more control over fat-content now (yay!). Maybe I still enjoy baking more, but least now the idea of cooking ceases to frighten me. And I have made so many things I won’t even bother listing because I’ll get upset about the amount of things I could have put on the blog and didn’t…again! (A few of them include: Szechwan Shrimp, Greek Herbed Baked Potatoes, Meatloaf, Tomato and Basil Soup, Macaroni Salad, and so much more).

Anywhoo, I got this recipe from David Patton’s “Golden State Mushroom Soup” but altered it slightly by adding potatoes, changing salt content, etc. I initially added potatoes to add a little texture, but it adds great flavor as well and makes the soup much more filling! I’m thinking next time I should add pieces of chicken breast to make this more of a meal than an appetizer, but it’s totally fine the way it is. :) One of the best things about this recipe is that it it doesn’t contain a lot of ingredients, and you’re likely to have most of the ingredients with you in the house. It’s SO easy, and serves around 6 people. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound (8 oz.) fresh mushrooms, sliced (this is about 2 1/2 – 3 cups sliced fresh mushrooms)
  • 2 small potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (I used a yellow one)
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, aka 4 tablespoons (you can reduce this to 3 tablespoons if you want
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (you can reduce this if you don’t want it really thick, but I thought it was a perfect amount. I love cream soup that’s slightly thick and isn’t too runny)
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cups of chicken broth, or 2 cups of boiling water + 2 chicken bouillons (aka Maggi)
  • 2/3 cup sour cream (Note: You can use a cup if it’s low-fat/fat-free, but for full-fat sour cream I just used like 1/2 cup or a little less)
  • Optional: Minced fresh parsley (for garnish at the end)

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan, saute mushrooms, onion, and potatoes in the butter until tender. Add potatoes, and continue to saute for a few more minutes, until juices.
  2. Sprinkle with flour and pepper (Notice there’s no salt here. The salt content from the chicken bouillons is more than enough) ; mix well. Continue to heat for another 5 minutes or so. Gradually stir in milk.
  3. In another bowl, bring broth to a boil. Add broth to mushroom/potato soup mixture. Cover and reduce heat to medium, leave for 10-15 minutes.
  4. Stir in sour cream; heat through (do not boil).
  5. Garnish with parsley if desired.
__
* “Mushroom and Potato Cream Soup, woop woop” is a name I came up with in an attempt to be witty/ rhyming. I failed. But I was this close to calling it “Mushroom and Potato Cream Soup Shoop-de-Loop”, so be happy.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mushroom and Potato Cream Soup, woop woop!

  1. Anne Onymous says:

    Ahh, I wish I had mushrooms in my house right now, that looks sooo good! :(
    good job though, it looks/sounds like you did a wonderful job with it! :)

  2. mynameis says:

    i might not cook this, but it def sounds yummy!
    ps. i like your title :P

  3. Lean.Bean says:

    Shudda went with shoop-de-loop… SMH
    ;)

    UMMMMMMMM I think I’m gonna try to make this, since trying to reach into the screen for one teensy little bite is apparently too much to ask. :)

  4. Pingback: Top Posts of 2010! | Miss Anthropist's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

