Chicken Pot Pie

Ready to love me? Well, ready or not, you’re going to. For the past two or three weeks, Miss Anthropist hasn’t been baking as she normally would, but actually… cooking! [audience gasp]. Why you ask? During the month of Ramadan (which ends in a few days– Happy Eid in advance, everyone!), it makes more sense to cook than to bake. The main meal of Ramadan is the dinner, not the dessert (dessert’s for Eid!), and I thought I’d take advantage of the fact that we all eat at the same time and the same food and put my cooking skills to the test (at the expense of my family’s taste buds…just kidding :p) Well, I’ve discovered that I now LOVE cooking and am actually good at it! As of yet, I’ve made Manicotti with spinach/cheese filling, Crab Quiche, Teriyaki Chicken, Mushroom Rice, and even invented my own salad, whoo!

I’m a tad upset, however, because I haven’t been taking ANY pictures of my cooking results. :( This is probably because I usually finish cooking around 2 minutes before everyone eats, and there simply isn’t enough time for food photography. Do not fret however, I plan on making these dishes once more, and next time (insha’Allah*) they’ll come with pictures.

Luckily, though, I was able to take pictures of the chicken pot pie! (That first picture of the slice of chicken pot pie was actually the last slice left, so thank goodness I was able to take that picture! Just as a note though, when you take it out of the oven and eat it, the inside will be runny, not really held together. The only reason mine is held together in the picture is because I took that last slice from the fridge and didn’t reheat it)

Yes, I’m fully aware that the crust edge looks strange, but that’s only because I was on a tight schedule and improvised the three 9-inch crusts thing since I changed the recipe into a deep-dish one. This picture is also bad because it wasn’t taken with my camera…it was taken with the family camera (which sucks compared to mine, shh). It looked prettier in real life, I promise.

This chicken pot pie recipe is definitely a must-make. Not only does it make an amazing dinner–creamy, warm, moist, and decadent– but it was also filling! Completely unlike those empty meals where you can have 20+ slices and still feel hungry. One slice of this baby with a little side-salad and you’re good to go! The only thing I would change is perhaps reducing the salt content, even though I usually adore anything salty. I think that this was due to the chicken flavored bouillons (that’s those Maggi chicken-flavored cubes for you unknowing folks ;)).

Here’s the recipe, enjoy! (adapted from Robbie Rice’s recipe on allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/2 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed
  • 1 and 1/2 cup sliced carrots (I used frozen cube carrots)
  • 1 and 1/2 cup frozen green peas
  • 1 and 1/2 cup diced potatoes (optional: I added this ingredient)
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery (because I’m not a celery fan, I used about an 1/8 of a cup)
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup butter (I used 1/2, so that’s what I’d recommend)
  • 2/3 cup chopped onion (I used green onion)
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed (If you don’t have that you can always use garlic powder. I used garlic salt, so that works too)
  • 3 cups chicken broth (or you can use 3 cups of boiling water + 3 chicken bouillons (Maggi chicken-flavored cubes or something of the like) (Note: I might recommend using 3 cups of boiling water + 2 chicken bouillons to reduce saltiness, since that’s what I’m probably going to try next time)
  • 1 and 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 (9 inch) unbaked pie crusts (Note: I used 3 because this was a deep-dish chicken pot pie and 2 9-inch pie crusts weren’t enough to go completely around)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C.)
  2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, potatoes, and celery. Add chicken broth (or boiling water + 2 Maggi chicken boillouns) to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.
  3. In a saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, and celery seed (or garlic powder). Slowly stir in the 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 and 1/2 cups of milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Place one 9-inch pie crust in bottom of pan. If you’re making it deep-dish then you should have a deep-dish pie crust. I used two 9-inch pie crusts to cover bottom and edges and one to cover the top, since I didn’t have a deep-dish on hand.
  5. Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour hot liquid mixture over. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape.
  6. Bake in the preheated oven for 35 to 45 minutes (just check how done it is after 30 minutes and estimate how long it will take from there), or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

__________________

*Insha’Allah -is a term used by Muslims when talking about the future, literally meaning “if God wills”. Normally to a friend you’d say, “I’ll see you tomorrow” right? Well, Muslims would say “I’ll see you tomorrow Insha’Allah” because we don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow–something could change that we hadn’t predicted, like the weather, health, etc)–so it’s completely up to God’s will.

This entry was posted in Pies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Lean.Bean says:

    Oh my Lord… That looks sooooooooo good… *drools all over keyboard*

    Why did you post this 6 hours before iftar?! lol

  2. Marwa Elnems says:

    I Love!!

Leave a Reply

